Why I got involved with the National Gamete Donation Trust

By trustee, Mark Jackson

Hi, my name is Mark and I am a sperm donor. I am 41 years old and have a partner who has an eleven year old from a previous relationship and we have a nine month old son together. We will be trying for another child soon, so keep your fingers crossed

I donated at a clinic in 2005 and am planning to go back and donate again in the near future to replenish stocks as it were.

At first I was really embarrassed about donating and did not want anyone to know. But I was asked to talk at the NGDT conference in 2005 and since then I have not been worried about talking about my experiences.

I can honestly say that becoming a donor has changed my life! I am a more complete and confident person than I was before I became a donor. So I would say to anyone, do something amazing, and go and see if you can become a donor too!

Read more about Mark’s donations in The Guardian: http://www.guardian.co.uk/lifeandstyle/2009/sep/05/sperm-donor

Leave a comment