A recipient’s tale

By Laura Hughes, Trustee

My husband and I had tried everything possible to have a baby together before we finally moved onto sperm donor treatment. At the time this felt very second best. I couldn’t have my husband’s baby. It was the thing I wanted more than anything in the world, and I had to settle for the baby of a donor. There was huge grief about not having my husband’s child.

But from the very minute those children arrived, we looked at them and we still look at them today – at our treasured, bright, wonderful, easy little girl and our completely mad, sweet, funny and beloved little boy – and we can’t see an atom of them which is second best.

We can’t look at them and see second best because they’re not. They are one hundred percent the best thing that could ever have happened to us. And because of that we no longer feel that the donation was second best. We feel it was the perfect thing to do, as we have the perfect children. Though I’m not sure my son’s teacher thinks that. The last note home said “Please could you encourage him to sing hymns in assembly and not Bohemian Rhapsody” But to us he is the perfect son and she is the perfect daughter.

So to all donors we give our thanks.

Tags: ,

Leave a comment